General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do you just have "it" or not? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 8

2007-05-23 3:09 PM

User image

Champion
Menomonee Falls, WI
Subject: Do you just have "it" or not?
I'm in my fourth year of doing tri's and have made considerable progress in my results through fairly consistent, intense training. Until the time I began training for tri's, I had never really swam, biked or ran in any significant way. I started out finishing sprints and Oly's in around the "back" of the the MOP and today I'm more at the mid-to-front of the MOP.

However, I look at the times the top 10% of my AG (35 -39) finish in, and I cannot remotely fathom ever being able to reach that level, much as I may aspire to. Some may think I'm being pessimistic, but I don't think that any amount of training, coaching, a better bike, whatever will ever allow me to move up that far. I just don't think it's in my genes or body type. And really, I'm OK with that. I mostly just want to improve on my own past performances.

However, I would be interested in hearing any stories about people who have defied such odds-- solid MOP'ers who somehow managed to climb to the top through persistence, training, whatever. I think I just need a little shot of inspiration.

2007-05-23 3:17 PM
in reply to: #814012

User image

Master
Tiger's Den
Subject: RE: Do you just have "it" or not?
I'm not sure where Barqhead started, but she is placing in the top 3 of the 35-39 age group now. She's fast, super fast. Comments she's made have me believing she wasn't always that fast, but I can't be sure.
2007-05-23 3:33 PM

User image

Champion
Butler