Canadian Triathlon Forum Ontario » New to triathlon...not a good swimmer Rss Feed  
Moderators: Silver_wlf, alicefoeller Reply
2012-04-03 2:27 PM

Subject: New to triathlon...not a good swimmer

Good day.  I'm quite new to the running a cycling world.  My name is Alex, I'm 36 years old, started running and cycling about a year ago.  I've recently joined a runners club near my house (the Running Room, currently aiming to complete a half marathon by the end of June) and cycle with a group of friends every Sunday for approximately 40 km.

My problem is swimming.... anyone in the same "boat" (pardon the pun)?  Should I be taking lessons?  How long does it take a "floater" not a "swimmer" to get the hang of it?  Should I just be doing duathlons?

Confused....but working on it.

Alex

2012-04-03 2:34 PM
in reply to: #4127789

User image

Subject: RE: New to triathlon...not a good swimmer

I have co-worker, who was fit and motivated, who went from total non-swimmer in the fall of 2010 to where he will be doing the 70.3 at Mont-Tremblant this summer.  He was motivated and did take lessons.

Although I knew how to swim, I hadn't in many years and at the same starting point could barely swim 25m.  While not as motivated (or anywhere near as fit), I have now done workouts where my total distance has been 1900m.  Nothing major to a true swimmer, but reasonable enough.

If you can't swim, get lessons.  Otherwise get in the pool and start swimming.

2012-04-03 7:34 PM

User image

I fully qualify as a rubbish swimmer who is working on it. I was a 44year old functional floater in Jan 2011, I now regularly complete 2400m in an hour in the pool.