General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running Form Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-27 9:05 AM

User image

Regular
Richmond
Subject: Running Form
Please keep in mind that I started training four months ago and have never been a runner. When I started running that was all I did, I went out and ran I gave no thought to form. I have seen great improvement in my running. I started out not being able to run a mile and this morning I ran a 5K at 8:42 pace. I know that is very slow for many of you but I was psyched. I have never considered my form until recently. I was wondering if there was a good book, thread, article about running form. My main concern is foot strike, I had thought heel to toe was right but I have been reading more about mid foot strike. Thanks in advance for your comments.

2009-08-27 9:10 AM
in reply to: #2373647

User image

Master
syracuse
Subject: RE: Running Form
more important to land center of gravity than concern yourself with mid foot landing.

strides can help with this.  At this stage of the game, I would just worry about getting your weekly milage up slowly.  form will come with the more miles you put in.  once your mileage is up there, you could incert 10-20 second strides within an endurance run which can help with form.  these are not all out efforts....

focusing on mid foot striking if you are a heel striker can result in injury before it results it better form or faster times.

run mo'
2009-08-27 9:11 AM