General Discussion Triathlon Talk » II see white people... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-08-29 10:44 PM

User image

Elite
Whispering Pines, North Carolina
Subject: II see white people...

Ok, not trying to start a race issue here, but....

Do tri's cater to white ppl?

This is my first year of triathlons. I did my first in April, my second in June, and my latest in mid August.

I have looked at all the pics of those tris and....I can count on my fingers and toes the number of triathletes that were not white...

Is it a Southern thing? Maybe in the North and West it isn't so 'white'...

I would like to see less disparity and more diversity...

Anyone care (or dare) to comment?

FWIW, I love diversity. Black, yellow, orange, purple, and green people are all alright in my book...I am a Zonie (born in the Panama Canal Zone to an American father and Panamanian mother). I'm just curious. Is this like a tennis or polo thing? White ppl like tri's?

Looking forward to replies...

2008-08-29 10:49 PM
in reply to: #1639043

User image

Expert
Orange County, California
Subject: RE: II see white people...
Lots of Hispanics do tri's here in California. Often are the overall winners too. Quite a few Asian Americals too, only a few African Americans, at least at the races I go too.
2008-08-29 11:05 PM
in reply to: #1639048

User image

Master

Cashmason - 2008-08-29 8:49 PM Lots of Hispanics do tri's here in California. Often are the overall winners too. Quite a few Asian Americals too, only a few African Americans, at least at the races I go too.

northern CA too. 

2008-08-29 11:16 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Dearborn, Michigan, USA.
That is a valid question. I have no clue.

I'll have to think about it. That is indeed a ponderous question.

You kind of ask two questions I suppose:

1. Why is the racial demographic of triathlons so specific?

-and-

2. To quote your own writing carefully: "Do tri's cater to white ppl (people)"