Ironman North America
80F / 27C
Sunny
Total Time = 11h 33m 10s
Overall Rank = 432/2207
Age Group = M35-39
Age Group Rank = 88/341
Pre-race routine:

Got to Madison On the Wednesday had a few swims drove the course and generally relaxed with my wife in the Concourse hotel.
IM Wisconsin would be a major step for me in terms of a complete life changing focus since 2006. My family moved to the US in Sep 2006. I had really let myself go since 2001 working for an investment bank with significant international travel had seen me ballon to 215lbs. When I started training in Sep 2006 I couldn't run more than 20 mins and ride more than an hour without feeling like i had been shot. I arrived at the start of IM Wisconsin exactly 2 years later weighing my high school graduation weight of 181 lbs and rearing to go.
Event warmup:

None
Swim
  • 1h 10m 35s
  • 4224 yards
  • 01m 40s / 100 yards
Comments:

I seeded my self about 5 rows back just inside the ski ramp about 20 meters from the buoy line. Asked everyone around me what their projected time's were everyone was saying around 1:05 to 1:10 so I thought I was in the right place I was expecting to swim about a 1:07. Canon went off and it was a mess, all the swimmers next to me and in front of me were actually North of 1.10 swimmers I missed the 1:05 train and spent the whole first loop fighting my way forward bridging from pack to pack but just couldn't find anyone going at my speed to pull me along. In the second lap I resigned myself to drafting found a really big dude with enormous feet and stayed on his feet the whole way round. Only issue being people had the same idea as me so I spent a lot of time and energy fighting people off the guy pulling me
What would you do differently?:

Not Underestimate my swimming ability. The IM swim is nut's If you start to far back that is where you will be for the whole swim as way too many people to swim through.
Transition 1
  • 09m 28s
Comments: