General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Inflating my tires - silly question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-25 10:07 AM

User image

Master
North Alabama
Subject: Inflating my tires - silly question

Warning - I'm new to road biking and especially presta valves...

I attempted to check and inflate the air pressure in my bike the other night and had zero success. Obviously, I'm doing something wrong and don't know what.

I have a Specialized Allez w/ the presta valves, and a basic standing floor pump with the "switch hitter" head for pumping. I unscrewed the valve cover, loosened the silver nut on the presta valve(?), and then attempted to attach the pump. The flip/nozzle was in the up position, applied it to the valve, and quickly closed it. Regardless I kept hearing air escaping the thread, losing pressure. The guage on the pump never registered any pressure.

After a couple of attempts, my tire was pretty much flat. So, before I take it to the shop and look like an idiot, can someone attempt to help me out here? I looked up videos and "how to's..." but it seems my problem is connecting the pump to the tire and that's not detailed...

Thanks.

2009-02-25 10:13 AM
in reply to: #1981074

User image

Subject: RE: Inflating my tires - silly question
LostSheep - 2009-02-25 11:07 AM

The flip/nozzle was in the up position, applied it to the valve, and quickly closed it. Regardless I kept hearing air escaping the thread, losing pressure. The guage on the pump never registered any pressure.

Unscrew the presta valve tips, then when you go to put the nozzle onto the tire, the flip up thing should be up, 90 degrees from the pump's hose. Push the nozzle down until you get a reading on the pump's pressure gauge. THEN push the flip up thing back to in line with the hose. When you're done, flip the flip up thing back up and wiggle it off the valve.

The pump valve is backwards from the one you used as a kid
2009-02-25 10:25 AM
in reply to: #1981091