BT Development Mentor Program Archives » enginerd's geek heaven - FULL Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 27

2009-04-07 4:01 PM

User image

Master
San Francisco
Subject: enginerd's geek heaven - FULL
NAME: enginerd/Donato
STORY: I live in San Francisco.  I'm a big geek/nerd and, yes, I work in IT.  In my past, I was an avid hiker/backpacker and an off an on runner doing races up to a half mary.  I gained a lot of weight at one point (big work project) and decided to get fit again; triathlons sounded cool.  I used to swim and bike in my youth, but hadn't done so for 20 years, so I bought a bike off craigslist, started swimming, and then found my way to BT.  I started with a season of sprints and Olys back in 2006 and worked my way up to HIM, IM, and ultramarathons.  In the process of all of this, endurance sports have very much become a lifestyle for me.
FAMILY STATUS: Married, one 16 year old cat (turkish angora)
CURRENT TRAINING: I bike to work every day and go long on the weekend, run 3-4x/week, swim 2-3x/week.  I don't really do any speed work or intervals because I'm a simple endurance guy and just enjoy the long slow stuff
2008 RACES: IM Lanzarote, IM Wisconsin, IM Cal 70.3, Door County Tri, 4 centuries, 1 bike race, 3 marathons (Big Sur, San Francisco, Nike Women's), and 4 ultramarathons (two 50K and two 50-milers)
2009 RACES:  IM Canada, Vineman (full), Escape from Alcatraz, Wildflower (long course and Olympic), IM Cal 70.3, and some ultramarathons for good measure
WEIGHTLOSS: I've lost almost 35 lbs. (which is over 26% of my current body weight) since I started training for tris