BT Development Mentor Program Archives » TexasMPGal/Smilford/Mattb1's "Faster and Stronger in 2010" Crew (CLOSED) Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 23

2009-12-13 9:42 PM

User image

Elite
Fishers, Indiana
Subject: TexasMPGal/Smilford/Mattb1's "Faster and Stronger in 2010" Crew (CLOSED)

Co-Led Team: Brittany and Stephen
Looking for athletes with some experience in triathlon and/or running (speeds don't matter!) who want to get stronger and faster in 2010 and want the accountability and training dialogue from a mentor group.  
NAME:
TexasMPGal/Brittany
STORY: I'm an active duty Army Captain/Military Police Officer currently at Ft. Hood, TX.  I started training for my first marathon while in Iraq in 2006/2007, and did my first marathon in Feb '08 after redeploying. One of my best friends convinced me, while I was in Iraq that I should give triathlon a shot. I wasn't sure, but found BT and got HOOKED immediately--before I even owned a bike. Bought my first tri-bike less than two-weeks after I redeployed.  My first tri-season was 2008 and I had a pretty good first season using BT plans and did two HIMs and multiple sprints/olympics.  The addiction had bit me and I signed up for Ironman Florida '09.  I was looking for a coach, and ended up working with Stephen (Smilford) here on BT.  After dealing with an early season stress fracture from a bike fall (Mar '09), I salvaged a pretty good season of racing and training all in prep for Ironman.  Through a variety of events you can read about in my Ironman race report if you want the details, I ended up doing Ironman Arizona '09 instead.  IMAZ went AWESOME and I am now huge fan of the Iron distance.  I'm faster than I look, and I hope to get faster still!! Some big goals in my future, and we'll see how the years can shape it!  I will be coming out of command (my current job) in Mar/Apr '10 and then headed somewhere (Austin/San Diego/Nashville) for graduate school for two years.  Lots of time for triathlon during