General Discussion Triathlon Talk » second thoughts Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-03-22 8:51 PM

User image

Regular
Subject: second thoughts
I'm feeling this last week like I am not sure I can do this.  I think I can, but. . .
Here are my two hangups:
1.  I just do not have the amount of time to put into the training that I'd like to.  I can give about an hour a day....and when I give that, I feel guilty about the way the house looks or not making a proper dinner for my kids.
2.  Only 5 flipping pounds have been lost since mid January when I started training.  I eat way less, I eat healthy foods, and I exercise like never before.  People say I look different, but c'mon...5 pounds?  If I were lighter, I know I could move faster.  Currently, I am 5'7", 177 pounds and 40 years old.
Advice, anyone?  I feel like crying.    oh....and my mom is referring to my tri training as a mid-life crisis.  gee, thanks....

2010-03-22 9:12 PM
in reply to: #2741656

User image

Pro
The Land of Ice and Snow
Subject: RE: second thoughts
OK here are my thoughts. First off you have to get your priorities straight. Clearly your kids are your priority right now from what you wrote, and RIGHTLY so. The time you have left over is what you have to work with. It may not be as much as you would like , but it is what it is. Try setting some goals that would fit in with the training hours that you CAN devote and do not worry about what you cannot devote.

Re the weight loss issue I suspect that you have probably decreased your bodyfat % and increased your muscle mass. Which are REALLY good things. The number on the scale only shows a very narrow view......and it is not the most important thing .

Oh.....and when I started tri training my family also said it was my mid life crisis! But its not such a bad crisis to get if you ask me!