United States
FSSeries
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 24m 10s
Overall Rank = 157/205
Age Group = 40-44
Age Group Rank = 6/6
Pre-race routine:

Gender: 39 of 65 (Not yet posted, but best I can figure from list)
AG: not yet posted.

Up at 4:30 a.m. Had and energy bar from Harvest Grain and coffee. Pretty much had no appetite becuse of eating so much the day before, so I did not even want my banana or protein powder which I normally have.
Event warmup:

Stretches.
Swim
  • 36m 57s
  • 1760 yards
  • 02m 06s / 100 yards
Comments:

First Olympic distance! I'm new to open water swimming as well as new to wearing a wetsuit. I decided to do this swim slow and easy so as not to end up hyperventilating out in the middle of the lake. Breathing was good and I felt calm and relaxed the whole way. I pulled right and rounded the buoys too wide adding some distance to my swim. Also, on the way back we were headed directly into the sun and I could not see the buoy at all (but the sunrise was beautiful!). I just followed other people and then all of a sudden there was the buoy! I swam front stroke the whole way other than a couple of times I breast stroked just to get better sight of the buoy.

At one point I was swimming straight for a buoy and a guy crossed horizontally in front of me. I tapped him and said, "Wrong way!" He said, "What?" I said, "the buoy is that way!" and pointed to the buoy. He just said, "My bad!" I also saw a guy swim head on into a buoy (that was kind of funny.)

I felt like Dory on Finding Nemo singing, "Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming. What do we do? We swim, swim!"

Photobucket
What would you do differently?:

Practice sighting and keeping straight; and of course work on speed.
Transition 1
  • 03m 46s
Comments: