Ironman North America
60F / 16C
Sunny
Total Time = 13h 41m 47s
Overall Rank = 1642/
Age Group = M 30-34
Age Group Rank = 162/
Pre-race routine:

This was one hectic pre-race for me and it lasted for about a week leading up to the race. I'm a Navy EOD student about to graduate in 2 weeks. The division I'm in now calls for a lot of diving and underwater operations, which can turn into so long days. In our schedule we have our diving days and other days set apart in case weather or some other mishap calls for postponing diving, which will be made up on our "free" day. Our diving days occurred on Wednesday and Thursday of this week, meaning I was not going to be able to get to PCB in time for athlete registration and so forth. It's impossible to just take a day off from training unless I want to roll back to a later class. That was not an option since I am so close to graduating. I had been in contact with Kristen Stantz for a few weeks and told her of my situation. She was able to hold my registration until Friday if I could get to PCB before bike and gear check in. The weather on Wednesday was awful. Windy, cold and raining all day while we were out on the boats all day diving and getting soaked and cold. Luckily there was no lightning so our operations could commence. The forecast for Thursday was the same, cold, wind and thunderstorms. Well, my prayers were answered as Thursday was windy and a tad chilly, but bright and sunny. We were able to get all of our diving in, which left Friday open as kind of a "free" day. I got out of work at 12:30 and headed to PCB on Friday. Met with Kristen a couple minutes before transition closed, got my packed, affixed my numbers to my bike, etc., and got into transition just as they were closing. It wasn't until then that I knew for sure this was happening and I was relieved. Once that was all taken care of I walked around the IM store a bit, then headed home and got some Greek food with a buddy and went to be. Got up at 3am and dro