BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Tri Mark's Madness Group-Closed Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 30

2011-06-14 2:50 PM
in reply to: #3548832

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.

2011-06-14 3:05 PM

Subject: RE: Tri Mark's Madness Group-Closed
miamiamy - 2011-06-14 2:02 PM

So Yeah Me! I finished my longest race yet this weekend Trinona in Winona, Minnesota. So many firsts where do I begin:

This is my first international distance. 1.5kswim, 40kbike and 10k run. When I started training I had never done anywhere near that distance swimming. Also first race in a wet suit.

This was the first long distance travel tri - so that adds some complexity.

This was my hilliest course ever (we don't have hills here in Miami). I made it up the Garvin Heights hill and only stopped because when the volunteer told me I was halfway up I got so excited I bumped into the curb - oops. Btw, I learned that clipping back in while going up hill is ... how shall I say ... difficult, close to impossible, awkward.

Not super speedy 3:28:10 but finished with a smile. And not last - close but not the very last person across the line. I'm super proud of myself.

I wrote a race report but not really sure where the link would be.

Awesome job Amy.  The terrain will make a huge difference in your ride and run, and yes, never unclip going up a hill.  If you do, make sure you're in a very small gear. 

2011-06-14 3:54 PM

Veteran
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
miamiamy - 2011-06-14 12:02 PM

So Yeah Me! I finished my longest race yet this weekend Trinona in Winona, Minnesota. So many firsts where do I begin:

This is my first international distance. 1.5kswim, 40kbike and 10k run. When I started training I had never done anywhere near that distance swimming. Also first race in a wet suit.

This was the first long distance travel tri - so that adds some complexity.