General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Anyone using PhysFarm Race Day software? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-02-10 9:03 AM

User image

Master
South Alabama
Subject: Anyone using PhysFarm Race Day software?

Saw the earlier discussion about calculating "stress score".  I use WKO+ for cycling and that software calcualates TSS (training stress score).  I have read Dr. Skiba's book on training with power and he discusses calculating TSS for all 3 sports. Seems interesting way to monitor training. I was wondering if anyone was using the Race Day software his site discusses.  Likes, dislikes any general thoughts. Thanks

Randy

2011-02-10 9:16 AM
in reply to: #3348470

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Anyone using PhysFarm Race Day software?
I have been using it for 14 months now.

For measuring load/stress, I find it excellent. I think it's worth it's price just for that.
On top of the load/stress scores, I like the way it presents time spent in various zones based on Power and Pace vs HR.

For analysis of rides I find it average. I much prefer Golden Cheetah. I find the two complimentary.

I really like the way it does a 'nomalized pace' for my runs. A hilly course at 4:45/km will show me that that's a 4:30 equivalent on a flat course.

For the swim it's good. I mostly do freestyle sets and it works great for that. Start doing a lot of the other strokes and kicking and it will be hard to get any type of accurate scoring. Everything is based on your threshold pace.

I am not so sure about it's ability to predict performance. I probably don't test enough for it to figure out the correct constant. I have 'tweeked' the constants to get performance curves that mapped good/bad performances. The curves that allow to figure out how/when to taper are cool, but I don't use them. This part is not something I use much but I find it cool to tinker with.

Support is excellent. Dr Phil is always very, very helpful.