General Discussion Triathlon Talk » The Coaching "Crisis": Your Opinions on US "coach" credibility. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

The Coaching "Crisis": Your Opinions on US "coach" credibility.
OptionResults
Triathlon coaching in the U.S. needs more formal educational requirements.
Triathlon coaching has enough regulation now through USAT.
I'm a coach.
Coaches in the U.S. have dubious qualifications to coach athletes.
The "open-ness" of the coaching system in the U.S. is good.
Most traithlon coaches are credible and valid as coaches.
Most triathlon coaches in the US have questionable credibility as coaches.
US coaching has no formal curriculae, and therefore no credibility.
The lack of improvement in average U.S. AG'ers proves our system is broken.
The success of U.S. AG'ers proves our system works.
It's not that hard to be a coach- what's the big deal?
Any person who dispenses advice for compensation should be accredited.
This is a multiple choice poll.

2011-04-06 12:53 PM

User image

Elite
Laguna Beach
Subject: The Coaching "Crisis": Your Opinions on US "coach" credibility.

In the U.S., if you want to be a dental technician, auto mechanic, accountant, licensed massage therapist, legal advocate, teacher or other role where you are a broker of specific knowledge to others you generally need a qualifying credential. A formal curriculae with an attached qualification regimen and maybe even required currency training.

Not so with coaching.

In most (all?) European countries the title "coach" is attached to a Master's level university degree, and cannot be used without the requisite formal education and credentials. It is a profession, a vocation.

In the U.S., if you or I want to be a "triathlon coach" all that is required are a few business cards and maybe a website. Athletes with no formal training in physiology, anatomy, sociology, psychology, counseling, or exercise science can be a "coach".