General Discussion Race Reports! » 6th Annual 'Tri The Rock' Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

6th Annual 'Tri The Rock' Triathlon - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Rockwall, Texas
United States
IronHead Race Productions
90'sF / 0C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 58m 32s
Overall Rank = 345/450
Age Group = Women 20 to 24
Age Group Rank = 21/21
Pre-race routine:

In bed 8:30pm. Sleep moderately well 9pm to 3am. Out of bed 3:20 am. Breakfast: 3:30-3:48am. 20oz water by 4am.

I drove to Melodie's to pick her up, but she wasn't ready, so we were late getting there - only 30 minutes before the meeting started. We set up our transition areas really quickly.

Being total newbies, we had no idea what we were doing, and got our timing chips right at the last minute becuase we didn't know about it. Our race numbers were so late (I was 409, and she was 411 out of 450) that we thought we had plenty of time to check all our gear and go to the bathroom and hydrate. Haha!

When it was time for the swim start, we were walking to our car to get Melodie's towel - I was still in running shoes, with no goggles or swim cap. 2 Volunteers started hollaring at us to go to the swim area so they could activate the timing system and start the race.

We suddenly realized that we were in trouble as the Race director said no athlete could cross that mat back into the transition area after they activated it! We really had no idea! There was a very gracious lady volunteering, who went back to the rack to take our running shoes, and get my goggles and swim cap for me. I felt so unprepared because I hadn't gotten a chance to check everything and I didn't have anything in the swim area to drink or eat. I really should have had more to eat closer to the time of my swim because of my hypoglycemia. I waited for about an hour and a half before my start.

Event warmup: