Boston Athletic Association
85F / 29C
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 21m 50s
Overall Rank = 2020/22000
Age Group = 40-444
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Got to Boston on Saturday for the Monday race. This is my first time so I wanted to make sure to take extra time at the expo and walking down to the finish line, etc. My wife came along and we left our kids in Michigan so we enjoyed some time together and saw parts of Boston and shopped some as well. A couple nice meals and just some R and R.

Race morning. Holy cow, I have to catch the bus between 6 and 6:30 for a 10 am start? Oh well. I guess we are all in the same boat. My usual breakfast of oatmeal, coffee, banana. To the bus stop. Met some really nice people from Houston on the bus and hung out with them until it was time to walk over to the start line. Ate a cliff bar about 90 minutes before the start and a gel about 30 minutes. Drank lots of fluids and tried to stay cool on what was going to prove to be a very hot day.
Event warmup:

Walked from the high school to the start line. Socialized. Stretched a little bit. Drank more water.
Run
  • 3h 21m 50s
  • 26.2 miles
  • 07m 42s  min/mile
Comments:

OK. This was the hottest Boston Marathon in a long time. People, me included, were not prepared for the heat of race day. They offered deferrals to anyone who did not want to race in the heat. I must have gotten twelve emails from the BAA imploring me not to do the race.

I had trained for this all winter long with the goal being to break three hours in a marathon. I knew it was going to be a close thing and would really require ideal conditions to achieve my holy grail of marathon running. Needless to say, these were not ideal conditions. However, I am not that smart and I decided that this was my one chance this year (only one marathon on the schedule) and I was going to go out and try to break three, regardless of the unexpected heat wave. Did I mention that I am not that smart?