General Discussion Triathlon Talk » crazy idea while running yesterday Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-11-30 7:25 AM

User image

Veteran
Subject: crazy idea while running yesterday

I was out for a nice 7 miler yesterday and the typical wandering mind set in.  I am signed up for IMLOU in 2013 and was already dreaming about the finish and having a mild anxiety attack over the whole idea.  I know heat and hills are the two biggest obstacles in Lou and I had a thought.  Perhaps someone can give some feedback.

Has anyone ever used one of those "emergency ice packs" for a really hot IM run?  These are the packs that you break open something inside the pack that causes a chemical reaction and becomes very cold very quickly.  I am a tennis coach and we keep at least 1 or 2 in our emergency kit for a sprained ankle on court.  I know most people recommend taking on ice at each aid station and putting it in the tri suit or holding it in the hands in order to cool the body core temp.  Would it be legal and/or a good idea to use one of these ice packs while on the run to either hold in your hands or put in the tri suit to keep the body cool?  I could keep one in the transition bag and another in the special needs run bag and the chemical reaction usually lasts a couple hours.   

2012-11-30 7:31 AM
in reply to: #4515973

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2012-11-30 8:11 AM

Expert
Detroit, MI. Kinda.
Subject: RE: crazy idea while running yesterday