General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Good places to bike train in SLO County Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-12-31 12:15 PM

User image

Subject: Good places to bike train in SLO County

Hi All,

I am new to triathlons, and I will be competing in the Wildflower Triathlon this May. I was wondering if any other SLO County locals had a good place to bike? I would like something out of the way so I can practice getting into the aero tuck without fear of becoming someone's hood ornament : )

2012-12-31 10:27 PM
in reply to: #4555201

User image

Expert
Palm Springs, California
Subject: RE: Good places to bike train in SLO County

There are countless places to bike, all of which people would pay big bucks to do on vacation if only we didn't keep them all secret I'm most familiar with the roads above the Cuesta Grade, in Wildflower land. The only real way to become familiar is to link up with the bike or tri groups. In North County, there are at least four or five groups. Major groups below the Grade include SLO Velo, the SLO Bike Club, and others who you can find with calls to the major stores like Art's and Foothill.

Above the Grade, there are rides and groups from K-Man, Go For It!, the SLO club local rides, and others, like my buddies on Team Tuesday Thursday. There's a friendly bike culture in the county, and a lot of good riders.

This time of year, there are spin groups that the stores and clubs sponsor.

Have fun for me! There's a reason the Wildflower Century sells out in a few hours and the Great Western rally is so popular.

2013-01-02 5:24 PM
in reply to: #4555958

User image

Regular
Central Coast, CA

Pacific John,

It looks like the link you have to the Central Coast Tri Club is dead, do they have a new site or other web presence?

2013-01-04 9:46 PM

User image