General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Is this is a bad idea, Sprint Tri with minimal prep? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-13 4:58 PM

Subject: Is this is a bad idea, Sprint Tri with minimal prep?

I am considering doing this sprint tri:

http://www.issaquahtri.com/

It will be my first tri event. I am in ok shape. I go to cross fit 2 to 3 times a week. The farthest I have run is a 5k. I did a 5k last summer and I did a 5k week ago at 29:37. I have done quite a few bike loaded tours in the past with 100 mile days. I have been cycling for a long time (12 years) so the bike is not an issue. I feel like the run is no problem. The thing I am worried about is the swim. 

Estimated water temp is 61, should I be wearing a suit for this? If I go to the gym twice a week and swim for 30 minutes is that enough prep? Anything else I should be aware of or concerned about?

I am not interested in my time, just want to finish the race.

2013-05-13 5:06 PM
in reply to: #4740615

User image

Regular
Aalborg, Denmark
Subject: RE: Is this is a bad idea, Sprint Tri with minimal prep?

Anyone can do a sprint unless there's something obvious preventing it: massively obese, severe injury etc.

You'll be fine.

2013-05-13 5:10 PM

New user

If you feel you can safely complete the swim I say go for it!

If you're in decent shape and feel like you can finish, then you probably can. You can always take it easy on the bike and walk a little on the run (I know I did for my first tri) but the swim you can't really stop. You can backstroke or breaststroke for a while though.

For 61 degrees you will probably want a wet suit.

2013-05-13 5:49 PM

User image

As mentioned above, if you can swim the distance, you should be fine.  Just don't underestimate it.