Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Hey CoJ, I need some career advice too (will keep it short) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-23 1:35 PM

User image

Supersonicus Idioticus
Thunder Bay, ON
Subject: Hey CoJ, I need some career advice too (will keep it short)
Hey CoJ,

Just answering Dave's (djastroman) career questions made me want to ask for some advice myself. Here is me in a nutshell:

1. I am a highly technical electrical engineer with 4 years under my belt. Some think of me as a researcher, but I do not.
2. I have worked on some pretty cool projects including MRI devices for breast cancer detection and semiconductor materials for laser devices.
3. I get a thrill out of making new devices that perform better and are of better quality.
4. I can analyze the #$&# out of a situation and usually make some pretty cool discoveries/solutions.

Here is my situation:

1. I just graduated my Master's degree six months ago and I do not have a job. In fact, the last engineering employment I had was early 2010.
2. I live in a very industrial city that emphasizes milling, mining and forestry, which seems to be apprehensive of the 'odd' industries I have worked in.
3. I cannot relocate because my wife is starting her PhD.
4. I am trying to find some sort of job just to keep the cash flow coming into the household, but the unskilled workforce, while abundant, sadly doesn't pay well.

Here are my questions:
1. Considering that I will continue to look for electrical engineering jobs, in the meantime should I recognize that the market for engineers like me is bad, the pay is low for high-tech jobs, and therefore should switch vocations?
2. What are some options I have not yet thought of that I could do to leverage this experience?