Canadian Triathlon Forum Quebec » Why I didn't lose weight Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2015-05-28 2:27 PM

User image

Trois-Rivieres, Quebec
Subject: Why I didn't lose weight

Hi everyone,

I have been training for 2 years full time now. I'm a retired 51 and I'm 5'4'' at 155 pound. I have around 25 pound to lose.

I have been training 6 times a week and 3 days a week is 2 training a day. I train around 2h00 everyday.

I have a personnal dietician and I follow here recommendation. I had 2 different personnal coach in that 2 years, but it didn't do good job properly so now I do my training alone with the BT custom training plan creator.

When I saw my dietician last time, she told me I was supposed to lose weight with the food I eat. The reality is that I have not lost a pound.

I did sprint triathlon in the moment and I check to do Olympic now. I did 2 half marathon. I'm slow a bit my half I did it in 2h12 so it's not fast but in the same time I run as if I was wearing a weight belt of 25 pounds everytime I do my training or competition.

The thing is all the time when I run my average HR is around 170 bpm. I did my half marathon last sunday and the average HR was 176 and my max was 186 bpm.  When I was at 180 bpm I was able to speak short sentences with my spouse during the run. So I was not close to die. On my last sprint triathlon I average 165 bpm and I focus to tried to keep my HR low.

I was thinking to do a half Ironman at the end of summer but realy not sure now. My half was hard. I choke at 17km and my leg was not able to push more. So now I know that my stamina is not good enough. I have to do more long run and ride to be better.

When I did my LT test it was 173 bpm on running. My Zone 1:  120-132,  Zone 2: 133-144, Zone 3: 144-156, Zone 4: 156-168, Zone 5: 168-180.

My last test was last year so I have to do another one. My coach never ask me to do another one so. Now I'm alone and I will do test at every 2 month or something like that.