General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First GPS watch Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-12-27 8:21 AM

Subject: First GPS watch
So, hubby wanted to get me a watch for Christmas, but had no clue which one to buy so told me to pick. I've been training for 2 years (on and off, had a baby in the middle), but plan to really get back into it after the new year. I've never used anything more high tech than Map My Ride/Run off of my phone. I've done some reading and it seems like Garmin gets by far the best reviews for multi sport. I'm mostly wondering if the 920 is worth the big price jump over the 910, for someone who never uses a real computer and who has never tracked data. It is a "gift", but my husband is a full time student so it all comes out of my paycheck. If I was going to put $500 into triathlon this year, should I spend it all on one watch?

Opinions? Which should I go for?

2015-12-27 8:50 AM
in reply to: MMW37

Subject: RE: First GPS watch
I used a Garmin 310 for a long time, and it pretty much does anything you need at a very reasonable price, since it's super cheap now. The 910 is a little more expensive, and adds a few features, but in my opinion, it never did enough "more" to justify the extra cost.

I'm using a 920 now, and it's a considerable improvement over the others...easier to read, more data, and with a lot of room for improvement through updates from Garmin as it ages.

It sounds like budget is a consideration, which it is for most of us. I'd check out the reviews by DCRainmaker and decide for yourself what you need.
2015-12-27 10:45 AM
in reply to: dpd3672

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
I just sold a 310XT and bought a 920XT. Heck, I don't find the 920XT any easier to read, at all.

The 310XT is a fine tool.
2015-12-27 12:05 PM

User image

Regular
Portland, Oregon
Which features do you want? Need?

310 - super cheap, great multisport watch
910 - adds indoor swimming metrics, less orange, little more $