Pacific Sports LLC
57F / 14C
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 05m 36s
Overall Rank = ?/1300
Age Group = Athena
Age Group Rank = 30/39
Pre-race routine:

Well, I popped my triathlon cherry today, and like the time I lost my actual virginity, it was fun, it hurt, and was over sooner than I expected! :)

I don't remember when I first heard about triathlons, but I do remember the first one that I watched. It was the 1995 Kona Ironman and was amazing. I couldn't believe people could actually do that. I found out that there were shorter local races that were very doable and was dying to try one. However, I was a college student with a full class load and two jobs. Training wasn't happening!

Over the next 11 years, I graduated, became a teacher, got married, got out of shape, and became a mother. I still had triathletic ambitions, but told myself I wouldn't even entertain the idea until I got into better shape.

Fast forward to September 2006. I got a bulletin to read to my students about the fact that they could earn community service hours by volunteering at the Long Beach Triathlon. I didn't know our city had its own triathlon! I looked it up and knew that I couldn't do the 1/2 mile swim, 11 mile bike ride, and 3.1 mile run in my current state of fitness, but thought that with a year of training, it might be possible. I vowed on that day to do this race in 07.

I was a good distance swimmer in high school, and had gotten back into swimming over the summer. I was doing a lot of laps, but not a half mile straight, and definitely not in open water. I rode my bike around town a little, but couldn't go more than 3 miles without aching legs. I couldn't run for even a minute. I could quickly walk for an hour, but no running. I had a lot of work ahead of me.