of 6

2007-12-12 6:46 PM

User image

Champion
Evergreen, Colorado
Subject: jldicarlo's group -- CLOSED

NAME: jldicarlo / Jennifer
STORY:
I have a pretty typical story of how I got into triathlons. A runner by trade, I heard about a really fun long distance bike event that I wanted to do. So I bought a bike and trained for it. Then a few months later my grad school built a brand new Olympic size swimming pool so I started swimming. Poof...a triathlete is born. I've never been very good, but I'm very crazy! Never one to jump in hesitantly, I did my first triathlon in 2004 at the Buffalo Springs Lake Half Ironman, one of the hardest Half Ironmans in the US. I was undertrained, unprepared, uneducated about the sport...but I did it anyway! I was TRULY a beginner triathlete! I still remember being in T2 standing there doing my mental checklist to make sure I had everything and I was SO SLOW that the guy who came in second overall was already dismantling his transition area. He told me to make sure I carried some water. Laughing Despite these rough beginnings, I kept coming back for more! Injury has held me back in the last few seasons, but I am still very active in racing. I learn more and more every year and every race!
FAMILY STATUS: Single, with dogs
CURRENT TRAINING: I'm on the zero to IM plan right now. I am bouncing back from several surgeries but plan on IMAZ in Nov 08. The first half of the year I plan on just trying to build up a good base without my techie gear. Then when I get back from my deployment (I'm in the middle east from Jan to July) I will return to my techie gadgets and am still toying with the idea of using a coach.
THIS YEAR'S RACES: I only did three races in 2007:

St. A's Oly because it's a big BT party.
The local sprint because it was an excuse to get my w/o's in while the parents were visiting.
And, of course, I love to do the Horsetooth 10k swim. I'm a big swimmer.
I had knee surgery on 4 Sep 07 so that put an end to my season.

2008 RACES: