General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IM for first tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2009-08-21 7:54 AM

User image

Cuyahoga Falls
Subject: IM for first tri
If this has been covered already in other threads sorry about that i couldnt find any.

I am new to this thing called triathlon and am planning on doing my first tri towards the end of next summer.

I would like peoples opinions on whether or not

A) A year is long enough to prepare for an Iron man or 70.3 tri

and

B) If it is a terrible idea to attempt an Iron  Man or 70.3 first time out of the gate.

From this site I see that many have started out big with the full or half so I know it is not impossible.

2009-08-21 8:05 AM
in reply to: #2361854

User image

Veteran
Macon, GA
Subject: RE: IM for first tri
My 2 cents....My first Ironman is next weekend in Louisville so I am not an ironman veteran. With that being said I would be extremely nervous to bite of Ironman for my first event. I think it is wise to start out at some shorter distances to determine your aptitude for this sport. The committment level for a sprint or olympic is much less than the ironman. I think a year is adequate in terms of training as long as you have a good base level of fitness and a good trianing plan or coach. I would plan at least 2-3 races before your ironman with one of them being a half to make sure you are ready.
2009-08-21 8:11 AM

It's also a good idea to get a few tri's under your belt just so you get the feeling of doing all 3 at once. You learn something new at every tri. You'd hate to learn something big on a IM as you'll be out there awhile. I'd rather test things out on shorter distances, i.e. Nutrition, clothing, etc.
2009-08-21 8:20 AM

User image

Cuyahoga Falls
Thanks folks,

Valid points. Any idea what the easiest (i know a relative term) IM or 1/2 IM race is.
2009-08-21 8:57 AM
in reply to: #2361878

User image

Master
Alpharetta, GA
tridawg72 - 2009-08-21 9:05 AM