General Discussion Triathlon Talk » The San Francisco Marathon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-04-03 8:24 PM

User image

Veteran
Springfield, Illinois
Subject: The San Francisco Marathon
I just started training for San Fran on Monday. Hoping to find some other folks who have done this race before to get some tips on the course. Anyone out there?

2008-04-03 10:08 PM
in reply to: #1314459

User image

Champion
Carlsbad, California
Subject: RE: The San Francisco Marathon

Yup, did this one in 2006.

Out of the 8 marathons I have done, this one is by far my favorite. I have since run faster marathons in many locations but this one remains the top race in terms of satisfaction level.

Anything you need to know, just ask.

My race report was posted on the old RWOL website and lost when the swapped out forum software but I think I still have the text of the report someplace. I will dig it up and post it if your interested

2008-04-04 6:19 AM
in reply to: #1314637

User image

Veteran
Springfield, Illinois

Absolutely! I can always use insight to help with training strategy. I'm glad to hear you liked it. It's a big investment in time and money and always a gamble with a race you've never done before.

I have an obvious question....how bad are the hills, really? See, Springfield is relatively flat and it's difficult to find hills to train on. Should I worry?

2008-04-04 11:14 AM

User image

Champion
Carlsbad, California

Still trying to dig up my race report but it might be gone forever. I might have to write another one instead. (I still remember most of the race and even have all of my time splits)

For being a race in San Francisco they did the best they could to flatten out the course as much as possible. Still, there are plenty of hills to deal with but nothing monsterous.