General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IM Dreams and Reality Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 1

2009-08-03 4:05 PM

User image

Master
Lafayette, IN
Subject: IM Dreams and Reality
I can't believe I am opening myself up to this, but here goes...

I have wanted to finish an IM since I was 40; ten years ago.  The timing was not good(kids, career, etc).  So I waited...patiently.  I have been doing tris for several years now and the longest has been a HIM.  I took this year off to attend several weddings, graduations and do about 25 projects around the house.  My wife is completely on board and is encouraging me to do nothing but work and train for the next year to be ready for IMWI in 2010.   

However, as I am getting closer to my volunteering at this years IMWI with the plan of signing up while I am there, I am starting to doubt whether I can still fit the training in now that my kids are more or less self sufficient and I have the year "off" from home projects.  I travel a lot (3-4 days/week) so my training gets interrupted a lot during the week.  I am looking at one of the BT plans that has a rest day on Fridays and the longer workouts on the weekends. My thoughts are to use Friday as a make-up day for missed workouts during the week albeit they will be "easier" so I don't fatigue myself before the weekend sessions.  I would have to improvise using treadmills, cheap motel or YMCA exercycles,etc.  Weekend training would not be an issue.  I am prepared to join the YMCA so I can use local Y's as I travel. 

So, what are your thoughts on taking the plunge?   

2009-08-03 4:16 PM
in reply to: #2325017

User image

Elite
San Diego
Subject: RE: IM Dreams and Reality