General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Toyota U.S. Open Triathlon Olympic : Official Thread Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2009-09-28 6:09 PM

User image

Master
Dallas
Subject: Toyota U.S. Open Triathlon Olympic : Official Thread
Does anybody know if they changed the bike course? Last year's Oak Cliff portion was disastrous, lots of potholes and big bumps.

2009-09-28 9:26 PM
in reply to: #2430700

User image

Calgary, Alberta
Subject: RE: Toyota U.S. Open Triathlon Olympic : Official Thread

Hey! Sorry I can't answer your question, but since I didn't want to start a second thread for the Toyota I thought I'd post my dilemma here. I am scheduled to do the Sprint at the Toyota in two weeks. I just began my training 6 weeks ago after 4 months of no activity (I was very active before that…school takes its toll). On top of that I’m new to tri in general, swimming and biking. I guess its because of my age (23) that I’ve been able to get my body where it is in such a short period of time as I am doing fairly well right now. I’m fairly lucky too that I haven’t incurred an injury. I completed my first sprint Tri yesterday and felt fairly good with the exception of the run but I’m fairly confident that my troubles were due to the fact I had a milk based shake under 2h before the event. I finished 84/600 and 6th in my age group.  So back to the Toyota…Due to the nature of the bike leg the sprint and Olympic are the same distance (40k) so there’s no issue there as I’ve trained for that distance. I just got in the pool a couple of hours ago and punched out 1600m no problem in 33 min and actually felt good afterward. After doing this distance a crazy idea has been creeping into my head…I don’t even know if I’m allowed to switch at this point but I can’t see why not as the sprint and Olympic cost the exact same amount….but I’m wondering if I should switch to the Olympic? I’m used to running a route that’s about 6.2k and I did that in 27 min today. I know