General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Post race let down... after half iron? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-26 3:51 PM

User image

Expert
Berkley, MI
Subject: Post race let down... after half iron?

I have heard of people feeling the post race blues after an Ironman, but I am definitely bummed out after my half iron event 30 days ago. 

For the first week I was reveling in all that I accomplished due to work/life/training balance (I travel high volumes internationally for work and often have spur of the moment life events pop up which can distract from training.)

The next week I had an injury which prevented me from really doing much. 

The last 2 weeks for me have not been about recovery as it has been about exhaustion.  I am tired but am feeling more let down than anything.

Is this normal?  I want to find my motivation and excitement again, but my half iron was the race I have been training for for nearly 2 years (life issue forced me to miss my half iron in 2009) and now I am just sort of... lost. 

Edited by })i({RunnerGirl 2010-07-26 3:56 PM

2010-07-26 3:58 PM
in reply to: #3005613

User image

Subject: RE: Post race let down... after half iron?
Perfectly normal     Congrats.   Soon, you'll start to think about training again, and pick out a race for later in the year, or next year, and start the vicious cycle all over again!
2010-07-26 4:03 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Oh yes this is normal. Completely normal. Part of my mental training is training for that feeling. I can't wait for my HIM to be done!! I'm looking forward to the month of October!! (this is part of my mental training..). I am going to see friends that I have neglected. I want to go camping! I want to go trail riding!! They call this the transition period. Once I'm done with my "down" time, then I start thinking about my new season, new goals, and moving forward.