General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ironman Clothing Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-09-12 1:45 PM

Pearland, Ohio
Subject: Ironman Clothing
Doing my first Ironman in November at IM Florida. Being a newbie I'm curious as to what other IM finishers did for choice of attire during the race. I was thinking of swimming in swim spandex and wetsuit, then utilizing the changing area and being comfortable with bike shorts and jersey (plus extra pockets for nutrition), then changing again into either running shorts or tri bottoms for the run.  My thought is that I'll be dry and comfortable for the race.  Am I wasting too much time in transition doing this?  I'm interested in hearing advice and opinons from everyone that has completed this distance and what they learned.  Thanks in advance!

2011-09-12 2:36 PM
in reply to: #3682735

User image

Expert
Subject: RE: Ironman Clothing

depends on your goals, remember, changing while wet will be a little more difficult.  For my first IM last year (also florida), we had to worry about temps too - 40s at the start of the bike.  I wore a swim suit under my wetsuit, changed to biking clothes for the bike (complete with arm warmers, gloves and booties) and changed to tri clothes for the run.  My transition times were horrible.

I signed up for wisconsin this afternoon.  Next year, I plan to do the entire race in my tri clothes.  If it is cold I will put on arm warmers in T1 and have a long sleeve shirt in run special needs.

2011-09-14 9:31 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Round Rock, Texas