General Discussion Race Reports! » Pinehurst Turkey Trot Half Marathon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Pinehurst Turkey Trot Half Marathon - Run

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Pinehurst, North Carolina
United States
FirstHealth
40F / 4C
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 08m 50s
Overall Rank = 147/180
Age Group = M20-29
Age Group Rank = 20/21
Pre-race routine:

Day started out a little off, as I got up 30 min late. Didn't have time to shower in the AM, just hopped in the car and off I went. Pinehurst is a good 75miles away, but fortunately there was little traffic and no cops so I made it with plenty of time.
Ate a clif bar with plenty of water on the drive down (~1-2hrs before start). Sips of water thru-out drive.
Got to the race site with ~45minutes before start. Changed clothes, decided to wear shorts and not warm-up pants. Good decision. Got the race packet, chip, etc.
Decided to use my ipod for this race. I've never used it in a race before, but was glad I did as there were many lonely spots on the course, which was pretty windy with not all that many participants.
Spent a little while stretching, took a short jog around the parking lot, and wandered up to the start line.
Had a gel about 5 minutes before start, and another at the half-way.
Event warmup:

Stretching & short jog in parking lot before start.
Run
  • 2h 08m 50s
  • 13.1 miles
  • 09m 50s  min/mile
Comments:

Overall, an excellent run. I did a great job pacing myself and at nutrition. Had one gel right before start and another at the half-way point. One thing is for sure - running events are SO much easier than triathlons, especially in terms of nutrition.
There weren't all that many runners in the half-mary (they also had 1mile, 5K and 10K races), so once everybody got spread out after the first 3-4miles, it was pretty sparse.