United States
100F / 38C
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 19m 17s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = 30-34
Age Group Rank = 7/8
Pre-race routine:

This was my first ever triathlon! I started training for a triathlon in mid-April, 2006 because I wanted something to help me focus while I tried to get healthy by increasing my fitness. My first registered triathlon was the Sunrise #3 series in Shreveport on June 18, 2006. However, due to thunderstorms and lightning, it was canceled. I was very disappointed but set my sights on the Jefferson Heritage Triathlon. I was told this was a fun, easy tri.......look for more comments to follow about that one!!

Being that this was going to be my first tri, I decided to go ahead and make a weekend of it. I've heard that Jefferson was a nice B&B town and so Jen and I got a room at the B&B and arrived late Friday evening.

On Saturday, after enjoying a nice breakfast at the B&B, I decided to go and drive the bike course because I had heard about the "dam" hills on the course. Wow, I have never seen hills this steep. Okay, so I live in Shreveport and we are pretty flat....but these hills are steep! I had read Gina's race report and she made it sound so easy....."rolling hills".....hmmmmm, I forget that Gina is a tremendous athlete and this is cake for her! I was getting pretty nervous about this course as I drove it and saw the hills come and go....then of course there is the last "dam" hill at the end of the route.....a virtual 45 degree angle at the very end of a hard ride......I wished I had taken a picture of this hill so you could believe it. I parked the SUV and did a quick change and hopped on my bike to try to test out the last "dam" hill.......OMG....I was only going about 7mph by the time I got up to the top. How am I going to do this on Sunday?