General Discussion Triathlon Talk » BAA expands field for 2014 Boston Marathon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-09-11 1:26 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Expert
New York
Subject: RE: BAA expands field for 2014 Boston Marathon
Originally posted by Asalzwed
Originally posted by swishyskirt

The countdown to lucky Friday the 13th continues for me. I am NOT good at being patient.

Or rather, at THIS point, with a BQ that took three years to get because of sidelining injuries, I am not good at being patient.

Anyone else, or am I in this psychosis all by my lonesome?

I know plenty of people in that boat. Actually, I know a few in the BQ by a minute boat. That's a tough one. 

I think about those by-a-minuters often, mostly because I realize more than a few are significantly faster than I could ever be.

The solution here, of course, it they just need to make sure the Boston Marathon ship is big enough for ALL of us fools!

Actually, that is something I kind of wonder about ...

Obviously there will always be a limit on how many people can enter a race, particularly Boston.

But for all of the people that BQ but have to fret over whether or not you will get in, would you prefer having a tougher BQ standard with a guaranteed entry? 

Oh, it's tough enough as it is, thank you very much! I just meant it should be big enough for all the people who qualify. That's what stinks about it...you can run your butt off and get a BQ, but then there's all this second-guessing about whether it was enough of a cushion to get in. 

ETA: And yes, it can only be SO big. And I'm a jerk for implying they should expand the qualifier number at the very least equally to the charity spots. How many people got shut out last year? I remember reading that if you were 1:14 under BQ time, you got in. Not sure how many people that left out in the cold, but surely they could expand it to include a couple thousand more.

Edited by swishyskirt 2013-09-11 1:29 PM