General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Marathon before I tackle this IM training?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-22 5:31 PM

User image

Subject: Marathon before I tackle this IM training??
I am new to the Ironman training and haven't ran a full marathon in about 7 years. I ran five before that and enjoyed
it but was somewhat slow back then. I run 2-4 half marathons each year now and have done the HIM distance
and LOVE it. I don't mind going out on the weekends for a 15-16 mile run but haven't pushed past that distance
in quite some time.

I was contemplating running a spring marathon- not planning on breaking any records but hoping to set a PR since
my previous PR is 4 hours. I run my half marathons around 1:40 now so I shouldn't have a problem breaking 4
hours.

Wondering if you would recommend doing this or if it's too big of a risk for injury, not necessary, etc. Or,
is this something that's important so I can get over my marathon jitters, run the full distance before the IM
and get used to training like that again?

I would run the marathon between February and April and my IM is in Florida in November, 2014. I do have
a history of stress fractures in my feet so that's why I backed off on running 40-50 miles per week.

Thoughts?

2013-11-22 7:54 PM
in reply to: midwesttrimom

User image

Veteran
Morgan Hill, California
Subject: RE: Marathon before I tackle this IM training??