General Discussion Race Reports! » Bone Island Tri - Half Iron Course Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Bone Island Tri - Half Iron Course - Triathlon

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Key West, Florida
United States
Questor Multisport & Set Up Events
81F / 27C
Sunny
Total Time = 6h 40m 46s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

My family, 3 little boys 8, 5 and 3 years old, and my wife traveled to Key West on 1/23/2014. We flew to Ft. Lauderdale and drove the 184 miles. Not sure I would do that drive again, but it gave me an early indicator of traffic I would experience on the bike on race day!

I am a relative newbie in this world. I did my first sprint in June 2012, plus the Luray Tri 2x (one sprint and one Olympic) for a total 3 triathlons, So I’m about 18 months into this addicting sport.

Prior to Bone Island, I trained for 13 weeks (in the cold), utilizing this plan http://tampatriteam.files.wordpress.com/...ronman-training1.pdf.

I felt as prepared as I could, without having any previous experience/imaginaiton of a race this distance.

Friday, January 22nd

The pre race meeting expo was small, and I got all checked in around noon Friday. The pre race meeting was a simple and a regurgitation of the race packet. We had noticed the poor road surfaces on US 1 driving in, and there were lots of questions around this. No answers. Too much hype. The word "expo" shouldn't have been used. Very small, and loud during the race meeting.

I drove down the coast to the transition area and found RaceDay Sports. They transported my bike. I met Mark, their President, and there was my bike, my Cannondale CAAD 10. I was very impressed with their service, and I would highly recommend them. My bike came home today (1/31/14).