General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Salt tablets/ salt stick Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-06-06 11:51 AM

User image

Elite
the desert
Subject: Salt tablets/ salt stick
I've been doing triathlon for 7 1/2 years (all distances) and have never used salt tablets. Even training out here in Arizona during the summer. Listening to some recent conversations at my tri club, could I be performing better if I used them? I understand that everyone's intake levels are different on salt and you need to find what works best for yourself, but what am I missing? How does it help? Can I get a tutorial from BT?

2014-06-06 12:30 PM
in reply to: Fitzy

User image

Subject: RE: Salt tablets/ salt stick
Do you cramp up when the temp rises? If not, then you don't need them.

For ME, I need them when the temp is above about 90 and even more when it's 100+

For a lot of other people, they don't need them and a lot of those people believe if they don't need them no one does.

2014-06-06 12:51 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Extreme Veteran
You sweat, you lose water and salt

You drink to replace the lost water but you also need to replace the salt. If you only replace the water, you are at risk of something called hyponatremia. Been there, done that, not fun.

Depending on what you drink, you may be getting the sodium. For example Ironman Perform is very heavy on sodium.

If your drink does not contain sodium, you can take salt tablets.

My very simple rule of thumb is I want about 300mg of sodium per bottle of liquids I drink. If it's already in the bottle, great. If it's just water, I pop a salt tablet.
If I am drinking little, I don't bother. 2 bottles per hour, for sure I am watching my sodium.

So, I drink to replace lost fluids and the fluids I take, I make sure they are containing 300mg per bottle or I take a slat stick to keep a reasonable sodium level in my body

A little too much sodium is probably better than a little too little.