General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Chinese Carbon Wheels - thoughts? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2015-07-31 11:24 AM

User image

Subject: Chinese Carbon Wheels - thoughts?
Random question but does anyone have any feedback on the chinese carbon rims from ebay or aliexpress. There are mixed feelings about them but it seems mostly positive. People who have never tried them are always like "oh man, you don't want to cut costs on wheels" and the people who have them say good things.

Is it a perceived quality issue or are they actually that bad? I know I'll be out the money if they have issues but they're so cheap I almost want to give them a test run.

2015-07-31 11:58 AM
in reply to: amalgamate

User image

Champion
Tacoma, Washington
Subject: RE: Chinese Carbon Wheels - thoughts?

I will give only my views of Chinese manufacturing, as I have no direct experience with unbranded "grey market" Chinese bikes or wheels (nor will I ever have direct experience).

I work for a company that contracts out to Chinese suppliers for large carbon layup parts and assemblies. We have direct oversight with on-sight direct hired manufacturing folks who are there to keep their eyes on the process, making sure it meets our specs and requirements.

The things that they try to get away with are amazing. One of the latest things was a question regarding sanding of the layups in the clean room. Now if you don't understand how these things are supposed to be produced, I'll illucidate -- you absolutely DO NOT do any sanding in the clean room. This is where the carbon is layed up before cure, and there is to be no foreign debris in that layup (it causes voids, disbonds, and eventually can cause part failure). Sanding will, in effect, introduce what amounts to a layer of parting agent into the layup. Rocket science degrees are not required.