Overall Rank = 11/58
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Run
  • 4h 17m 43s
  • 26.2 miles
  • 09m 50s  min/mile
Comments:

Ahhh the quest for the first marathon by itself. I say "by itself" because up until now the only marathons I had done were at the end of Ironman races. I wanted to see what I could do with legs that didn't feel like I'd been hit by a bus at the starting line, so I started training in April. My first pick for a race was in Iceland, but because of work scheduling I wasn't able to get enough time off to go overseas. It was a toss up between the Little Grand Canyon in Utah, and an extra terrestrial themed marathon along the highway in Nevada where all the UFO sightings are. It starts at midnight under a full moon and people run dressed like aliens and Elvis. It sounded cool, but something about starting a marathon at midnight was worrisome considering I'm usually in bed by 9. I'm so glad I went with the Little Grand Canyon race. It starts just outside Huntington and goes down into the San Rafael swell, ending at a scenic spot called The Wedge, decorated with towering castles of sandstone.

At 6:30, we all toe the line just as there's a slight bit of ambient light creeping over the horizon. To my left is a lady taking a picture of another runner taking a whiz on the side of the road in front of everyone. I love these people!! I see a few other runners wearing an SJ Ultimate Direction hydration vest like mine which naturally causes us to gravitate towards each other like some kind of dorky uniformed running squad. I also couldn't find my regular running visor, so I end up wearing a bright red "Nobody beats the Wiz!" trucker cap that my niece had given me for Christmas as a joke.