General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Athletes over 50 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2023-05-13 5:50 AM

User image

Subject: Athletes over 50
Hi guys,

I have been running for 11 years now and have noticed recently that I have consistent soreness after a run where I really didn't before. It does go away pretty quickly, but immediately following a run I have to move more slowly and I definitely feel it in my legs. I am 52 now. Is this just a normal sign of aging? Is there anything I can do to avoid this, or do I need to suck it up? It's not horrible, but I miss the days when a run was just invigorating, not invigorating with pain mixed in!

2023-05-15 9:39 AM
in reply to: Caroleena

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Athletes over 50

Is it possible something else has changed?  Ankle flexibility that has your feet slapping the pavement or landing on your heel rather than the ball of your foot? 

When was the last time you changed shoes?  Old shoes, or new shoes can make for newfound soreness.  Even if you bought the same shoes you previously used successfully, the company may have changed things on you. 

2023-05-15 10:00 AM

User image

Master
Atlanta, Georgia
Just turned 60 and I'm running way more than when I turned 50 but, yeah, recovery started taking longer around that age. I think it means lots more attention to maintenance(stretching/core strength/etc) but rolling with the punches when there's an injury that needs time to heal is a part of the game plan, too. Invigorating with some 'pain' mixed in pretty well describes it..

2023-05-15 1:08 PM
in reply to: McFuzz

User image

No, shoes are the same ones I had bought two years ago - I purchase 5 or 6 pairs when I find ones I like at a good price.
My stride hasn't really changed either. But I will continue to think about any other changes that may have happened in the past year or two that could be impacting it. Thank you!
2023-05-15 1:10 PM