Surge Sports
35F / 2C
Overcast
Total Time = 30m 10s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = Cat V
Age Group Rank = 57/65
Pre-race routine:

My start time was not until 9:51 so I was able to "sleep in". Stopped at Starbucks on the way over to Hiram (about a 75 minute drive from Cumming) and had my standard Americano and baked goodie. I have not been riding AT ALL as I have been training for the Sarasota Marathon in two weeks. I also bought a new bike (QR Seduza) about 6 weeks ago and I rode it once on the trainer. With that being said, this sounded like fun and, if nothing else, it would give me an idea of my current bike fitness level. Once I am done with the marathon I started training for Florida 70.3.
Event warmup:

Arrived at the event and parked in the church parking lot. Set my trainer up and bundled up because it was CCCCCOOOOOOLLLLLLDDDDDD. Put my headphones on and set out to spin for 10 minutes. The guy next to me was spinning as well. He got off and started to pack up and head over to the race start. I asked when his start time was and he said 9:50 (1 minute before me). I looked at the clock in my car and realize I had about 4 minutes until my start time - panic sets in.

I get my bike off the trainer and throw the trainer in the car. I forgot my tire pump but I figured I could borrow one. As I said, I bought the bike about 6 weeks ago and never put air in the tires. No time now. I quickly pin my number on my back on my outer layer and I rush over to the start. They are lining everyone up and they keep shouting a number. Well, my number is on my back and I can't see it. I ask someone if they are calling my number and they say yes. I rush up to the front and I am now the next one off. Geesh!

I look down at my tires and they are noticebly low on air. Just great! A time trial with very little air in my tires. Before I know it I am heading up the ramp and someone is holding my bike and the starter is counting down 5 .. 4 .. 3 .. 2 .. 1 and I am off.
Bike
  • 30m 10s