General Discussion Triathlon Talk » donating blood Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-10-07 4:46 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Manitoba, Canada
Subject: donating blood

I've been donating blood for 20 years or so, and have given the quota in about 10 -12 minutes.  Since I started the tri training I have given blood 4 times (I was not going to give up any hemoglobin during race season!) and each time it has been a very slow bleeding process. I understand the connection between fluid volume and bleeding times, so I made sure I was hydrated. I don't think it's a caffiene related issue either, as I have always had coffee the days I donate.

During the screening they do the vitals and I know I was boarderline for being too low on everything. Low temp -ok,  it means blood can be diverted to your torso away from extremities. But lower heart rate, BP or weight/height ratio should not affect blood volume ...?   Why would I bleed so slowly now? By 20 minutes they can't use your platelets, and will cut you off at 21 minutes.(I got in the time frame for plasma only ) Unfortuantely no one there could answer my questions.

Anyone know this stuff? Or if there is a link between higher fitness levels and blood donation problems?

2004-10-07 5:02 PM
in reply to: #70340

User image

Champion
Whizzzzzlandia
Silver member
Subject: RE: donating blood

I can't address your SPECIFIC question, but I CAN say that I donated blood for the first time in years about 4 months ago. It was just 2 weeks before my first race of the season. I felt sluggish, tired and headachy for about 4 weeks after I donated, and I felt rather crappy for my race as well.