General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Marathon/Triathlon article in Wall Street Journal Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2007-06-23 8:30 AM

Regular
Eugene, Oregon
Subject: Marathon/Triathlon article in Wall Street Journal
There's an article in the WSJ this morning about triathlon and how some use the internet to find easy races with few participants, just so they can "win" a medal or trophy. If you don't get the paper edition, it's at the following link:

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB118255420792545333.html?mod=home_we...

As a newb, I'd be interested what others think. Personally, I think it's really lame, but I've been accused of being harsh before.

j

2007-06-23 9:03 AM
in reply to: #856845

User image

Master
Portland, ME
Subject: RE: Marathon/Triathlon article in Wall Street Journal

Pros do it all the time. Do you ever wonder why pro fields are always small? It's because they scout out races to figure which races they have the best chance to win prize money in.

I have no problem with someone doing their homework to find races that have weak fields if they want to win.

When I played mid and high stakes poker, half the game was making sure you sat yourself at the table with the most donks and fishes and avoided the sharks.

Some do sports for the experience and the fun of jogging around in lycra and some do it to crush the competition. To each his own.  

Edited by Jackemy 2007-06-23 9:05 AM
2007-06-23 10:21 AM

User image

Elite
Hurst, Texas
At least the article gives a shout out to BT !!
2007-06-23 10:35 AM

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2007-06-23 11:37 AM

Cycling Guru
Fulton, MD

Big money = really competitive field

Little money = hit or miss

No money = usually pretty slow field