of 19

2006-12-28 11:22 AM

User image

Champion
Whizzzzzlandia
Silver member
Subject: Whizzzzz's Group -- Full!

NAME: Whizzzzz / Laura

STORY: Long boring story short, I swam in Jr. High and for a part of HS. I was unmotivated to train in the early AMs and put forth the effort it took to remain on our community's swim team, so I quit to pursue the glamorous sport of Cheerleading. That was pretty much the end of my athleticism.

Went away to College, gained about 35 lbs doing 12 oz curls at the local bar. Lost it about 3 years after I graduated through excessive step aerobics. I was doing back to back step classes (2 hours a day!) about 6-7 days a week. I lost the extra fat, but did not gain any muscle and although I was thin, I had no upper (or lower!) body strength whatsoever. Eventually I wound up with a stress fracture in my left foot and pretty severe plantar fascitis in my right foot. I was instructed to lay off of all step aerobics, indefinitely. I slowly started gaining some of my weight back...So I started swimming again.

My sister had already done the Reebok Women's Triathlon, and she encouraged me to try it out. I did, and that was June of 2003. I quickly became hooked.  Haven't taken another step class since!

FAMILY STATUS: Single / The proud parent of 2 rambunctious felines.

CURRENT TRAINING: I generally train with 2 of my best friends, Katie and Pete. They have each completed multiple IMs. They took me under their wing(s) a couple of years ago and showed me what consistent training feels and looks like. Katie writes the "PLAN" and Pete and I follow it. It's generally a periodized plan, with 3 weeks of building and 1 week of recovery. I modified the plan to include 2 rest days per week for myself.

LAST YEAR'S RACES: 2 two-mile open water swims, a sprint, an Olympic and 2 Half Ironman races.