General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Reverse Altitude Question, What to expect? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 1

2009-11-09 3:14 PM

User image

Expert
Thornton, CO
Subject: Reverse Altitude Question, What to expect?
So I looked through a bunch of old threads trying to find this and didn't see anything.  I saw a ton of things about what to expect when you move from low altitude to high altitude and how that effects your s/b/r performance.

I've been living in Colorado for the past 5+ years basically, but most of that doesn't matter, for the past 2 1/2 years I've been in the Denver area, so around 5k ft give or take a few hundred.  I started training a year ago and did my first HIM a few months back (5:39 total with a 2:16 run).  I've since been heavy on my running for the past 2+ months, averaging 25miles/week (I only recently started using the BT logs like I should).  This past Saturday I was feeling good, did a 15mile bike ride to a friends place at decent speed (~17mph) which was slow enough that I could eat my morning bagel while relaxing on the aerobars on the way there.  10 minutes later I went out to run with them and helped pace them at 9minute miles for 9 miles (averaged 9:03, relatively flat route but still had a few hills that slowed the pace to 9:30 for that mile).  We had timed it so that we met up with a running group and went running with them within 10 minutes of stopping.  I proceeded to run another 4.2 miles... with the first 3miles around 8:30pace, but the last mile dropped to 9:45).  Went and had a good breakfast with the group, and then a smaller group of us met up on our bikes and went and did a 35mile ride, averaging a slower 16mph speed, but no drafting going on since we were on rec paths.

So with that day, my 13.1mile mark of running yielded me a 1:58 time... which technically beats my PR of 2:04 from 2003 back when I used to smoke cigarettes.