General Discussion Iron Distance Race Groups » Ironman USA Lake Placid : Official Thread Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 112

2010-09-14 1:28 PM

User image

Master
...at home in The ATL
Subject: Ironman USA Lake Placid : Official Thread

On August 9th of last year, PennState started the official thread by asking the group a few basic questions - I guess we should do the same:

OK Ironman USA people. Who the heck is in for IMLP 2011???

Why don't we start off with a few questions...

1. Is this your first IM?
2. Have you done LP before?
3. What are your goals for the 2010 race?
4.How/Why did you select the Lake Placid Race?
5. Do you have any specific questions that you wish addressed about LP (the race, training etc)

1. Although I have been racing pretty consistently for going on 19 years, this will be my first iron distance/Ironman race.

2. I have not even visited Lake Placid - but am already looking forward to the trip. My beautiful bride and I plan to make a longer vacation out of it.

3. Goals: Show up healthy and uninjured on race day and finish within 17 hours. Seriously. For IM #2 I will adjust my goals accordingly.

4. I selected the Lake Placid event in large part due to schedule; I teach and will have the opportunity to be off for about four months prior to the race next year. School will start back up 2 weeks after Lake Placid - I figured I would never get a better schedule alignment than that!

5. Not too many questions at the moment - because AFTER signing up online during the 30 minute window in which registration was open I did a little more research on the race. I just finished reading all 241 pages of last year's epic thread and it seems to be the consensus that I could not have chosen a better one. I am sure that I will have lots of questions as the year progresses...

I do understand that there might be a few hills on the bike and run.