Calgary City Police
-2C / 28F
Precipitation
Total Time = 1h 59m 16s
Overall Rank = 443/1511
Age Group = m30-39
Age Group Rank = 119/253
Pre-race routine:

Well, it wasn't a great week. I did a 10k 2 weeks ago and wanted to be able to use that time to gauge my pace but the weather was crap 2 weeks ago so my time didn't really translate. So I did this killer workout on Tuesday, you know, to gauge my pace, I did 12k in 58.5 min which is smoking fast for me as I have never done a sub 50 10k before. Anyways, so yeah, my legs were garbage for the rest of the week, I ran easy every day but they just had no snap to them.

On top of that, on Friday I slept like 4 hours in the afternoon. Wasn't feeling that sick, just a little headache, but I don't know, must have had a little bug.

Anyways. Fish and rice and veg for dinner. Beer before bed. Slept okay. Up at 6. A bit of rice. A bit of sweet tea.

The weather was Crap again. And when I say crap, I mean crap. 2 cars in the ditch on the way there. Tons of snow. And it was still snowy, which is even worse than 2 weeks ago. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Event warmup:

So, get there around 7. Do about 2k of warm up run trying to get things moving. Don't really succeed but good enough I guess. Run into Barefoot Neil. Cool cat. Check him out here http://becauseallthecoolkidsaredoingit.blogspot.com/

So the race is at mount royal uni, and the start line is like right out the door, so around 8 I make my way towards it, the hallway is packed. Ha, people are lined up into the building. I think 2500 people there. Anyways, hit the head again, nothing. Finally wander out around 8:07, still snowing, still blowing. Not that cold but COME FRIGIN ON.

Get it started.
Run
  • 1h 59m 16s
  • 21.1 kms
  • 05m 39s  min/km
Comments: