General Discussion Triathlon Talk » beginner triathlon plan for a year away? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-25 1:06 PM

Subject: beginner triathlon plan for a year away?
Hi guys,

I'm just getting into the triathlon life and had a couple questions. I'm planning on going for an olympic length triathlon by next spring (April/May) but don't know how to train for that since it's quite a ways away. I'm looking at the olympic 2x balanced plan and it looks doable but it only covers 20 weeks. Should I do the sprint 2x balanced and then the olympic one afterwards?

any advice would be appreciated
Robby

2014-08-25 1:10 PM
in reply to: yayitsrobby

User image

Regular
Wisconsin
Subject: RE: beginner triathlon plan for a year away?
What's your background and base for each leg?
2014-08-25 1:22 PM
in reply to: Swimbikeron

I'm just starting so I don't have a base for each leg. I'm fairly active and am capable of doing each discipline lightly (not a race pace or anything). I think my goal would be to finish more than compete for my very first tri.
2014-08-25 1:39 PM

User image

Veteran
Pittsburgh, PA
Doing a sprint plan, then an Olympic plan, isn't a bad idea.
Doing an actual sprint triathlon also wouldn't be a bad idea, and you also might consider doing a few running races (5k or 10k) and charity rides. All of those things will get you some experience racing, and you'll learn things, like how quickly you wear out at race pace, what you should eat before/ during a race,+ how nerves affect you, etc. Moreover, it's tough to stay motivated for a year without some mini-goals along the way.
Many of us were surprised at how tough swimming was when we started doing tris. Unless you're regularly swimming laps now, or swam competitively as a youth, it might take quite a bit of time to work up to the swimming distance.
2014-08-25 1:40 PM

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA

Welcome to BT!