General Discussion Triathlon Talk » online coaching Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-06-09 4:13 PM

User image

Subject: online coaching
I've been doing tris for a few years now and may be bumping against the ceiling of what improvements I can accomplish on my own. Also thinking about signing up for my second HIM in 2016. I'm wondering if anyone has experience with online coaching?

I've tried to ask around but basically no one I know is using a coach. I've identified a couple local services, but this is a really small town and I'm a little nervous about using someone local just because I'll feel pressure to keep them even if it's not working out. Any recommendations?

Thanks!

2015-06-09 4:30 PM
in reply to: RunningJoke

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: online coaching

Do you mean a coach that is remote but giving you workouts and following your progress or do you mean a plan by say Dave Scott that you load into Training Peaks and follow, but nobody looks at your data ?

2015-06-09 4:33 PM
in reply to: marcag

User image

I would like to try someone who would look at my workout data and give me advice, and answer emails a few times a month.
2015-06-09 4:46 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Originally posted by RunningJoke

I would like to try someone who would look at my workout data and give me advice, and answer emails a few times a month.

that IMO works well. With a GPS watch and a Powermeter a coach who knows what he is doing can see as much as if he were there.

The only difficult part is swimming. A coach can prescribe workouts, again look at data, but nothing beats being on deck. This is where a masters program fits well with a remote coach.

There are tools for coaches to monitor your fatigue, your nutrition, heck, even your aerodynamics.

So the being remote is not the issue, if you find the right person at the other end.
2015-06-09 4:51 PM
in reply to: #5121506

User image

Durham, North Carolina
Short story: