United States
50F / 10C
Sunny
Total Time = 59m 35s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = 30-34
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Woke up pretty at my regular time (4:30) and slept in until 5:30, so I was well rested. Drove over to the course at about 5:45 just to check out the "200m stretch of packed snow & ice." I decided it wasn't bad and would ride the tri bike.

Drove back home and had a bowl of Total, 2 slices of toast and large glass of water.
Event warmup:

Warm up was pretty minimal. As I suspected, my online registration didn't get processed I had to register. Not a biggie. I had noticed the night before that the entry fee hadn't been debited from my account.

After registering, I headed back to the car, debated on how many layers I'd wear and air up my tires. When I took the pump off the back tire, the valve core came out too. Fought with the replacement tube because it was bulging between the rim and the tire, but after 20 minutes I got it squared away. I started riding up to the transition area with my bag over my shoulder and my Accelerade bottle fell out spilling it's entire contents on the pavement. Got to the transisition area and realized that I forget my number. Rachelle went and got it for me while set up my transition spot. She also brought me a bottle of water. Downed some water and a gel about 10 minutes before the start and tried to calm down. Short jog and then some stretching
Run
  • 00m
  • 4 miles
  •  min/mile
Comments:

Went out way too hard on the first mile. It might have been the lack of a warmup, but it took it's toll regardless. HR was low on the first mile probably because I hadn't warmed up and it was mostly down hill. The rest was on well packed trail, but hillier.