General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Weight Gain During IM Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-02-26 9:13 AM

User image

Veteran
Las Vegas, NV
Subject: Weight Gain During IM Training
I'm sure this has been posted before but I am posting again to get thoughts. I started training for triathlon about 3 years ago and lost about 20 pounds down to 125 from 145. Last season I completed 1 HIM and finished my season with IMAZ. Immediately after, (like the night of IMAZ), I weighed myself and GAINED 5 pounds. I thought ok it's from all the salt and will come off once I cut my training back. I took 6 weeks off from IMAZ, doing minimal bikes, runs and swims. I watched what I ate and at the beginning of the year started IMSG training. I am training for an Ironman! I don't eat crap and in fact, have cut back on alot of the garbage I ate while training for IMAZ and yet I am still holding onto that 5 pounds. Any thoughts on what this is? Is it muscle? Is it salt? I can tell you it's very frustrating

2010-02-26 10:17 AM
in reply to: #2694982

User image

Elite
Roswell, GA
Subject: RE: Weight Gain During IM Training

How do your clothes fit?

2010-02-26 10:18 AM

User image

Champion
MA
It happens to a lot of women I know who train for IM but men seems to often work the opposite they have a hard time keeping weight on.
2010-02-26 10:20 AM

User image

Expert
Lake in the Hills, IL
Weight is not the only thing you want to look at. Body fat percentage, body composition, and how your clothes fit should all factor into the equation. It is very possible that you have gained muscle and that is throwing off your weight.
2010-02-26 11:50 AM

User image

Veteran